People nowadays tend to have children at older ages. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Many of us, if not all, want to have children at some point in our lives. Some choose to do this relatively sooner while others prefer to become parents at an older age. The emotional and financial aspect of this trend takes precedence over the few drawbacks it has to offer. Being a parent is a huge responsibility, and it makes perfect sense to consider each factor beforehand. Firstly, parenthood demands a certain level of maturity. If we are not mentally ready, our offspring will likely have a troubled childhood. For example, it is more common among the children of alcoholics to be neglected and then indulge in drugs and alcohol. Another advantage is that financially secure individuals can better support their newborn’s expenses. Many of us start earning a higher salary around our thirties. Not only will this bear the cost of the baby’s necessities, but it will also aid in boosting a first-time parent’s self-confidence. Despite all of that, several challenges, mainly physical, arise as we grow old. For women specifically, it becomes increasingly difficult to conceive in their thirties. This age bracket is considerably higher for men, but it comes with its complications. For example, studies prove that the levels of sex hormones decrease for both genders with increasing age. Secondly, rare disorders are often seen in babies of older people, as evidenced in numerous medical journals. Due to this, it is contended that reproducing at a younger age is better as we are still in perfect health. In conclusion, having children later in life has the benefits of fulfilling the emotional and financial needs of children, in addition to the boost in parents’ confidence, outweigh the potential physical disadvantages it may or may not have.