Some think they can use as much fresh water as they want, but others say governments should limit water use because it’s not endless. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions are divided as to whether usage of fresh water should be limited or not. This essay will closely examine both views and explain why I believe governmental intervention has more favorable effects. To begin with, some argue that every citizen should spend water without any restrictions for those reasons. Firstly, water is public goods which means that all the locals have the right to access water to sustain their lives. In fact, we can reach streams in the mountains, rivers or sea and drink as much as we would like to. Furthermore, new regulations restricting or allotting water usage could result in detrimental effects unintentionally. For example, imposing taxes on water has the probability of making the lives of low-income earners worse due to their tax burdens. On the flip side, there is the assertion that considering the situation where purified water has already become one of the limited resources around the globe, some regulations should be added. According to research conducted by the Korea Development Institute in 2020, only 25% of people around the world could spend clean water to maintain their basic standard of life and 20% of the rest had to dig the earth to acquire groundwater. Hence, utilizing and trading bottled water that is saved by the initiatives of regulations could solve this water loss problem. In addition, limiting water use can bring about people’s awareness of the value and necessity of saving water, which can be a good instrument for conserving natural resources. To conclude, while some argue that access to water should be guaranteed without any entity’s interference, I believe that the introduction of restrictions limiting each person’s water usage can be a good approach to saving and making use of our restricted resources.