Some people believe that money spent on space exploration is not justifiable. There are more beneficial ways to spend this money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A number of people strongly believe that the financial resources being committed towards space exploration are unjustifiable. Rather, they believe that these monies should be spent in more beneficial ways. In my opinion, space exploration has not yielded benefits that are commensurate to the billions of dollars spent towards it and as such, I strongly agree that there are more beneficial ways to spend these funds. To begin with, there has been no significant human quality of life improvement that can be attributed towards space exploration projects since Lance Armstrong's landing on the moon 70 years ago, which was the world's first successful space exploration project. Considering that huge amounts of funds have been committed towards this, the cost versus reward ratio shows a great imbalance, and therefore makes no fiscal sense. For instance, the National Aeronautics and Space Administration has received over $700 billion in funding from the US government since its existence and has not innovated any new product or service beneficial to US citizens at this time. Looking at it from an objective perspective, this is a waste of precious and scarce resources that can be channelled elsewhere. It will be more beneficial to citizens and the human race as a whole if these huge amounts of financial resources are committed towards projects that have a direct impact on our daily lives. Examples of such projects can include the research and development of treatments for terminal diseases such as cancer, the development of critical infrastructure such as roads and transportation systems, as well as the development of social welfare programs that will reach low-income earners. Such projects will have a direct impact on human lives and will be better appreciated rather than space exploration. To conclude, continued expenditure on projects such as space exploration that yield zero to no impact on the quality of our lives as humans is totally unjustifiable. In my opinion, monies should instead be funnelled to more beneficial projects such as the development of treatments for terminal diseases.