Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugar, which causes many health problems. sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

In today’s climate, consuming sugary drinks and foods has gained popularity among people. It is a widely held view that increasing the price of sugary and unhealthy foods is the best solution to decrease their sales, a theory which I strongly disapprove of. The main justification why the high price of manufactured foods would not be fruitful is the fact that it can provoke people to eat more. In other words, they would turn to luxury food and as a result, individuals are tempted to buy them. Besides, from dawn of the time, it has been seen that people’s tendency to have something which is out of reach is higher than things in access. As an example in Iran, they are willing to pay an extravagant amount of money which is higher than its actual price to have an iPhone since it is rare, this is while there exist a significant number of mobile phones that not only are less expensive, but also have more features like Samsung. Therefore, this method can not be effective in the long term. There are a few facts regarding the more effective ways of declining the rate of using high-sugar foods rather than making them expensive. First and foremost, kids should be taught in schools about the harms and bad effects of this kind of food. The more they become aware of the hazards that sugary foods can bring, the less they will use them. An illustration of this way is to put several examples and facts in children’s books to affect their subconscious. Last but not least, companies can use lower amounts of sugar and also they can use natural sweeteners like honey. What can be concluded from the discussion revolving around making expensive manufactured foods with high amounts of sugar to decline its consumption is the fact that I find myself among critics who believe that it's not the right course of action.