These days, fooddays, food travels long distances before reaching consumers, and it is therefore believed that consuming locally grown food would bring about a number of economic and environmental benefits. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages ?

In the present scenario, people are consuming items that have travelled a significant path but it is often argued that consumption of goods which are grown in nearby farms might bring a lot of financial and environmental benefits. This essay will explore both merits and demerits related to this topic. To begin with, the agricultural items which are grown locally are fresh without any preservatives added to them in order to withstand degradation as they are moved a long distance, that makes our diet healthy which eventually leads to less prone to diseases. As local goods do not have to move a lot, the cost involved in transportation will be cut off making it cheaper as well as good quality food eradicates waste of money on medicines which in turn decreases our expenses and contributes to savings leading to economic benefits. The carbon emissions that might have occurred during transport are reduced which helps to protect our environment and promote sustainability. Thus, regional food production leads to saving money and the environment. In contrast, we cannot have all the items necessary for us produced in adjacent areas depriving us of having a balanced diet. Also the farmers will use lots of pesticides and fertilizers to meet the huge demand which has a tremendous effect on health. For instance, if the demand for certain vegetables is high, the production needs to boost up which is only possible by the use of new technology that involves the use of different unnatural processes that harm our health and nature. Therefore, the movement is essential if locally grown products cannot meet demand. In conclusion, preference should be given to locally grown products as they promote financial and environmental advantages but we must be aware of the fact that their disadvantages must not outweigh the benefits.