In order to be successful in sport, some people think you have to be physically strong. Others say that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are controversial perspectives heating a debate over success in sport. While some claim that it is necessary for people to have physical strength, the opposite makes a statement that mentally strong is more significant. Whilst each has its own perks, I would contend that it is optimal to combine both mentioned factors. Without a shadow of a doubt, being physically strong plays such a paramount importance role in sports. And the explanation for this could be that some sports require good endurance. For instance, football athletes need to have fine legs which assist them to perform difficult techniques in about 90 minutes, not to mention stoppage time. They also have to exercise regularly in order to maintain their health such as stamina together with muscular strength. Hence, physical strength helps athletes to accelerate in the title race. While the redeeming features of physical health are widely acknowledged, it is unfair if those of mental strength are ignored. This might be because mental health serves as a vital factor for athletes, which motivates their morale. For instance, Miss Nguyen Thi Anh Vien - one of the most well-known female swimmers, she is always in the highest spirits when not only taking part in the coaching period but also engaging in competition. Thanks to her full of energy, she won considerable gold medal cups in SEA Games 2015. Thus, preparing for good mental health is also a manner to conquer the victory cup. In conclusion, sportsmen have to practice both physical and mental health so that they can be in a good position for the match.