In the past, everyone wore clothes according to their culture but now people wear similar clothes all around the world. Is this a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Past generations used to wear garments depending on their culture, however, people from all over the world are now wearing similar clothing. This essay thinks that wearing the same clothes is a negative development because it loses the identity of one's country and it does not help with the preservation of culture. One of the negative effects of having the same clothes from another country is that it loses the identity of a nation. Most countries have their own national costumes which identify them from others. For instance, a person wearing a Filipiniana can be identified as a Filipino, while Hanbok is known to be Korea's national costume. However, wearing garments that are alike eliminates the distinction between countries. Also, other nationalities share the same features such as Asians, if they wear identical clothes, it might be hard for foreigners to identify them, thus, it can be offensive to them. In addition to that, identical clothing does not contribute to preserving a nation's culture. Modern clothing is made of imported and cheap materials. On the other hand, cultural clothing is usually manufactured locally and it uses local textiles. Also, the inspiration for these clothes is based on the history of the community. For example, Igorot tribes in the Philippines traditionally wear "bahag". This type of attire is made from abaca fiber which is extracted from abaca plants and it is handwoven by local residents. Thus, having the same attire from all around the world can eradicate these traditions. In conclusion, although people all over the world share the same interest in clothes, wearing the same garment is a negative development because it leaves a nation at risk of losing its identity and it does not help in culture preservation.