In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Thanks to advancements in technology, the number of business sectors has witnessed significant growth, resulting in heightened competition across many industries. In the pursuit of prominence within their respective sectors, businesses tend to emphasize the quality of their products and services. In my view, this is largely a negative development. A profound understanding of why businesses emphasize that their products are new contributes to grasping the competition in the business world. This essay will discuss both the positive and negative aspects of this development. Firstly, one positive aspect of emphasizing the quality of a product is the opportunity to increase revenue and profit. This is the most prevalent method used to persuade people to seek either high-end brands or high quality through advertisements. Individuals captivated by advertisements tend to care about features that are emphasized. Therefore, in these industries, it is understandable to pursue a reputation. On the other hand, the goal of standing out among counterparts may result in the monopolization of one brand. People tend to consume or buy what brings them an elevated status; therefore, the preference for solely one brand gives rise to the collapse of other brands. For instance, the marketing strategy of Apple related to iPad led to a predominant preference for iPad among tablet computers. In conclusion, while there are both positive and negative aspects, it is essential for businesses to find a balance for fair competition.