Some people think that the best way to broaden young people's understanding of the world is to encourage them to travel to other countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Some people argue that encouraging young adults to visit foreign countries is the most effective method to expand young adult's perspective. While travelling overseas can be beneficial for young people, it is not sufficient and not always accessible for them. I agree that travelling can be one of the best methods to expand global views. However, it should be complemented by other methods, such as by volunteering in refugee centres and getting exposure to global issues trough media sources. Travelling to other countries can help young people to expand their horizon because it pushes young people beyond their comfort zone and gives them opportunities to learn new languages, customs, and different ways of thinking. This benefit of overseas travelling is widely recognized in many countries. For example, many young people often from western countries take a gap year after completing high school to travel outside their home countries. As a result, it can increase young people's awareness and sense of independence, which can help them make better life decisions. However, overseas travelling may not be always accessible or sufficient for all young people. There are other measures that could be considered to replace overseas travelling. The first one is volunteering in migrant services/ refugees’ centres in their home country. In Australia, for example, many migrants service centres serve multicultural populations. In these centres, volunteers are offered opportunities to practice and learn about different traditions, cultures, and refugees' life stories. Through their involvement, volunteers can cultivate multicultural appreciation and sense of empathy which can break stigmas and raise an awareness of challenges faced by marginalized communities. In summary, while travelling abroad can expand young people's worldviews, it may not be affordable and sufficient for everyone. There are other means to replace it such as volunteering at local refugee centres in their home country which can also yield the same results.