Some believe that history has little to teach us about today while others think that the study of the past helps us to understand the present. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

When it comes to history and its importance in present, there are differing opinions on the matter. A few people believe that history provides very limited lessons about present. Whreas, the other part pf group thinks that past assist us to comprehend today's situation.It is importany to explore both the sides of the argument to gain a comprehensive understanding. In this essay, both the views will be discussed followed by my opinion. Admittedly, usage of past in understanding the present doesn't comes without limitations. One of the reasons why it is not much relevant is the social, technological, economical advancement which has been achieved during the passage of time. Person's needs, capabilities and many aspects like these contradicts with the one we had in past. Therefore, taking history as a basis for making today's world might not be the right thing to do. For instance, people in history did not have expenses like Internet bill, mobile bills or subscriptions of OTT platform. Thus, we cannot study budgeting of today's youngster with a young lad in 1960. Furthermore, technology has changed things drastically at social, economical and personal level. Modern problems related to society cannot be solved using the data from past. Neverthless, despite above drawbacks, I believe that we can still make use of past in the present. One major argument favoring this is people and their emotions. Even though their needs, standard of living has changed, it did not have significant impact on how person thinks, feels and reacts to certain things. We can definately use the former knowledge about human psychology to understand today's people. It may not be accurate but will help researchers a lot in study of today's community. Also, the lessons from the history relating to management, budgeting,etc can be used in today's world with little improvements. Although, the face of today's problem may be different ffrom yesterday. But it is same at the center. To cite an example, Emperors in the history managed their army very well. We can use their lessons to create today's strategy for human resource management. After considering the both sides of the debate, I find the arguments in favor of using past to understand present more compelling. While there are other points made by other side, I firmly believe that the former one offers considerations that outweighs the limitation. To conclude, although the present has changed a lot from yesterday, history still assists us largely in understanding the current situation.