In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country.Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

In today's globalized world, learners are choosing foreign countries for better education; However, it was not the same in earlier years. In olden days, people completed their studies in the home country itself. This essay discusses both advantages and disadvantages of the aborad education. Admittedly, going to other country for education comes with some drawbacks. One of the prominent demerit of foreign education is reduction in GDP and resources for the home country. To elaborate further, when a student decides to move to other country, their nation looses its skilled young workforce. Additionally, education institutes loose their income which results in low GDP for country. For instance, during the audit of colleges in India, I realized that most of these institutions are working under loss. Furthermore, when a student leaves his/her nation it affects families to great extent. Parents of the international students not only feel lonely at home country but also makes them anxious about wellbeing of their child in foreign land. Also, abroad studies comes with huge financial debt. Despite its disadvantages, international studies provides numerous benefits. Its primary benefits includes quality education and exposure to global market. One cannot deny the fact that education in the India is not at par with global quality standards. The learners are unable to acquire industry demanded skillsets in their home country. To cite an example, most of the programmes in my home country focuses on theoratical knowledge than practical knowledge. Additionally, students also get exposure to global job market during their education in foreign nation. One meets people from different parts of the world. They learn about various cultures, languages, etc. This in turn helps in overall development of an individual. Apart from this, developed countries also provide competitive wages for both skilled and unskilled workers. Because of this, students do not feel ashamed to do any kind of job. For instance, most of the students work in restaurants, supermarkets, petrol pumps while studying with no shame. And they also get paid fairly for their work. To conclude, going abroad for studies comes with both benefits and drawbacks. One should consider both the sides of the argument before making a decision about foreign education.