in spite of advancements made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. why is this case? What can be done about this problem?

Besides the advancements in agriculture, nations around the world still have food insecurity. This essay will discuss the main causes of food shortage including floods and hoarding. This essay will also suggest solutions including building dams and purchasing crops by the government. Fertile agricultural land often exists along water bodies whenever flow increases in these due to either rain or melting glaciers catastrophically flooding crops. In addition, private enterprises purchase crops from farmers because lack of checks and balances by law enforcement agencies, they hoard commodities and gain lots of profit after the increase in demand. For instance, in 2010, Pakistan was hit by a massive flood, the majority of farmland, especially in the province of Punjab was flooded and the government did not have enough stock available at that time as a result there was a shortage of grains, cereals, and vegetables in the country. Authorities should build new dams so that water discharge can be monitored accordingly. Moreover, the government should buy crops directly from farmers in this way not only the farmers will get high returns for their efforts but authorities can also control the supply and demand. For example, after the 2010 flood in Pakistan, the government built new dams and now controls the water flow efficiently. Furthermore, authorities are in action, purchasing crops directly from farmers and supplying food in the market effectively. Therefore, the food security index is rising to a great extent. In summary, this article discussed flooding and hoarding are the main causes of food shortage. This article also suggested that storing water and acquiring flora from farmers by authorities to control the supply and demand chain leads to food security.