Countries should try to produce all the food for the population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, it has been widely argued that nations should give a chance to local agriculture and plant food on their own land rather than retrieving it from overseas. From my perspective, I wholeheartedly agree with this view. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss the reasons behind my opinion before arriving at a considerable conclusion. To begin with, there are a lot of economic advantages to producing food in the country rather than getting it from outside. For example, using local soil and equipment to grow vegetables and fruits is much cheaper than buying it. To clarify, moving food from one country to another requires financial support because it needs specific tools such as, refrigerator systems to keep the food fresh. Another point worth noting, farming or planting seeds in the country's land has some possible benefits to human health. For clarification, when the society starts to grow their own food they know the type of grains that they have been planted as well as the type of soil they use. To illustrate, by using their own ground they will not going to use any pesticides. Therefore, it will not going to affect their health in the long-term. In addition, in some countries when they plant food they inject it with harmful hormones to make it look tasty. However, local people indeed not going to apply any harmful substance to their grains. As a result, they are much more likely to have a healthy long life without any complications. To sum up, I totally agree that nations should try to plant their own food rather than importing them. Because it will gain many benefits in return, starting with the country's economy and ending with better health and fewer diseases.