In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing population.

Indeed, these days people, especially in the developed countries, live much longer than before, for instance even 10 years ago. It leads to some challenges for them and for the society. The biggest problems is health, of course. There is no one reason why long life means good health, just the opposite, health issues are raising with the age. According to statistics from different research, the most common of them are brain diseases and disabilities. Aging people, their families and relatives should put up with this fact. The other problem is aging people employment. Every country tries to increase a retirement age, moreover, it is not a secret that even in developed countries we have age discrimination, though they are working on it. And this problem from the one hand makes it difficult for the old employers get a good position, from the other hand, most of them would rather to have some rest from the job, finally enjoying life, traveling, and gathering, for example. This statement drove us to the next problem – money. Having more life years people need more money, if the old days people could buy the most important things for their retirement, now they can not do this, because they live longer, so they need more things, more care, more treatment, and more money, of course. Obviously, when we know, we can take them down. First of all, in my opinion, it is importantly to explain these problems to people since their young age, to prepare them for the old age in the different ways, such as preventing health problems through nutrition, mental health, physical activities and sport. Besides, they can study how to operate with money, in addition how to invest money and get profits from it. Governments can bring this function to themselves, organize variety programs, activities for the different groups of people. If employers think about getting benefits from the oldest people at work, they will find some ways for it. These ways could help with the employment problems. In conclusion, I would say that even though we have these aging problems it is much better to decide them and live longer, and everyone is responsible for the quality of his or she life at the old age. I would like to add, that if there is an opportunity to meet in person at 14:00 March, 6th, it would be great.