People say that it is a waste of time for high school students to learn literature at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement ?

There is a controversial perspective heating a debate over the fact that studying literature in high school is such a time-consuming subject. While this statement is valid to some extent, I do not consider myself an advocate of such a notion. Without a shadow of a doubt, there are numerous advantages of absorbing literary knowledge, especially in job opportunities. And the explanation for this could be that by learning literature, it can help people use suitable language for the context. To be more specific, when you are applying for positions at leading companies namely Viettel or FPT, using the right vocabulary can make your CV or email more sharpen, potentially increasing your chances of being accepted into the company. Therefore, learning literature does wonders for your occupation opportunities. Furthermore, literature plays a paramount significant role in people’s lives as it provokes student’s patriotism. This is probably because literary works from the past help us understand a wealth of hurdles and hardships faced by our forefathers. Moreover, it provides a deeper insight into our historical identity. For instance, “The Independence Declaration” by Uncle Ho, who is the greatest man in Vietnam, can be cited as a compelling example of how our ancestors fought tooth and nail for independence and nation-building. Hence, our national pride can be lifted up by studying literature. In conclusion, I strongly disagree with the perception that learning literacy is a waste of time.