Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by a small number of people ,some people say that government should spend public money on saving these languages ,while others believe that would be a waste of money. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Although, many believe that the leaders need to save minority languages by investing in it, others think it is a complete waste of money. From my perspective, the government should put public funds into building infrastructure. Even though a lot will argue that saving the mother tongue is a way of preserving our cultural heritage. Will cultural heritage add any value to the future generation? To begin with, our leaders should put the populace funds into infrastructural development. For instance, remote villages in Nigeria will benefit from more schools, ensuring that the population is educated and a better future. Clearly, giving a child a promising life is far better than the dialect they speak. Therefore, building more infrastructures will benefit the minority community better. In contrast, public money is better off saving these dying languages since it is invaluable that one understands and speaks their mother tongue. For example, in my tribe, only the elderly and middle-aged can speak our native language, while the younger generation uses a mixture of English and Igbo to communicate. Sadly, our local dialect will soon stop existing. Thus, why the authority needs to intervene and save the situation. In my opinion, authorities should build more social amenities rather than saving a language. Even though local tongues are going extinct, building more infrastructures would offer more advantages. In conclusion, it is argued by many that the government should save local tongues from extinction since our cultural background needs to be preserved. Where as, others believe it is a waste of funds as the communities have more pressing needs. I completely agree with this because social amenities are needed to improve the quality of life in society. Having the comforts of life is invaluable regardless of the language we speak.