"Prevention is better than cure" Out of a country's health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventive measures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

According to, World Health Organization, health is considered as physical, mental, and social wellbeing. Although, in today’s world, there are many treatments for almost all the illnesses, I believe prevention is better than cure. Therefore, I completely agree to the given statement and in this essay, I will discuss further regarding my answer. There are some diseases, which can not be cured once you get it, but those conditions can be prevented easily through some life modifications. For example, non-communicable diseases such as diabetes, hypertension, heart conditions and hypercholesterolemia can be prevented by healthy diet. For a year, the government spend millions of dollars to treat patients with these illnesses. But if the government spend half of the money to increase awareness of the community about these conditions, in no time people will be healthy as well as the money will be saved. Furthermore, in Sri Lanka, the most prevalent cancer among males is oral squamous cell carcinoma. The reason is betel chewing. Betel chewing has a cultural value. Because of that, the public does not consider it as a bad habit. Even though, patients with oral carcinoma undergo surgeries, there is a high chance of recurrences and spread the cancer to lungs and other systems. Moreover, the mental health of the person who got the disease and the mental health of the relatives should be considered. It will not be as same as it was before. Therefore, even though, they undergo surgery, they will be living with fear about recurrences and they will have to face side effects of the treatments. But the sad truth is that, it could have been prevented easily with habit intervention. To conclude, in my perspective, it is better to prevent a disorder than curing it and it will help the health of the public as well as economy of the country.