New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experiences.

The pace of technological development has infiltrated almost every aspect of children, profoundly altering the way they evaluate their leisure time. It is my contention that this propensity of change is akin to a double-edged sword by ensuring both merits and demerits concurrently. First and foremost, presently, kids allocate a major part of their free time on the internet so to say, social media platforms, unconsciously scrolling for hours through their smartphones and computers. All useful and informative hobbies that juveniles can find temporary gratification in have now been substituted with high technological tools such as virtual reality headsets, continuously evolving smartphones and computers. To exemplify this statement, the newest generation members are growing up as introverts as they lack basic communicational skills to engage with their peers, all owing to the fact that they spend most of their time playing video games and wasting their time surfing through internet. Another disadvantage of this trend is that children are becoming detached from reality as AI technology becomes more advanced on a daily basis. For example, this overarching AI development causes kids to lose touch with reality, therefore, forcing them to utilize more time in this cyberspace. Moreover, it is also true that technology can be a valuable asset if its usefulness is put into good practice. It is worth noting that a lot of students can now have access to unlimited resources of information and data to hone their skills to able to acquire profound education opportunities in the future. To set an example, chatGPT bot technology partially eliminates the need for teachers because of its advanced capabilities for fast delivery of information. In conclusion, while the advent of modern technologies has laid the pathway for new challenges to take place in the context of youngsters, the advantages of change such as infinite data sources and instantaneous communication opportunities are equally significant.