News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

News stories and newspapers go along with pictures. According to some people, pictures are more effective than words. In my perspective, graphics remain in mind for a longer period of time as compared to words or sayings because of human psychology. We remember things for long periods which is not common. Pictures are not as common as words as we listen to words more than we saw pictures that's why pictures are commonly used in news channels. For instance, I remember the scene when Benazir was assaulted in 2008 it is just because of the video that I had watched on the PTV news channel but at the same time, I do not remember the news that I had listened to two days ago because there were no videos related to that news. So, we can say that with the use of pictures, news channels can tell news to people that they can remember for a long time. By using visuals news channels can convey their message with proof and they can be more clear also with the use of pictures no one is going to doubt your statements because visuals are proof of your words anyone who watches the news will not believe a statement told by a news anchor until or unless he/ she watches some sort of video or picture. For example, when Imran Khan was arrested for his wrong accusations of Zadari. This news was cast on various news channels but no one believed this news of both wrong accusations and his arrest. Eventually, a news channel by the name ARY uploaded a video that was taken at the time of Imran Khan's arrest and suddenly the majority of people started believing his arrest but still, people did not believe that Imran Khan accused someone because there was no any kind of video or picture. So, we can say that videos or pictures can make people start believing statements that anchors say on television. In conclusion, we can say that by using visuals people remember the news for a long time at the same time people believe the news without any doubt.