Some people think that because some children find some subjects such as mathematics difficult, it ought to be optional instead of compulsory. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this option?

Many schools of thought advocate for the freedom of chose learn or not traditional subjects such as mathematics, since they may have problems understanding such lessons. From my perspective, I fully disagree with changing the mandatory nature of such subjects, because they are necessary to understanding real life interactions, as well as give them paramount skills such as problem solving and discipline. First and foremost, mathematics have provided a foundation for everything in life nowadays. Many examples include personal finances, budgets, counting systems, etc. To lack of a basic understanding in concepts such a sums, fractions and multiplying could be troublesome, and certainly hinder students to fully engage in every day life operations. For example, many day to day interactions such as making a purchase in cash and checking the change afterwards involve basic math operations like sums, and substractions. Moreover, the effort poured into understanding math problems enhance students to adquire problem solving abilities, as well as discipline and hard work. Even though lessons cover just equations and confusing operations, students who work out solutions to this kind of problems are most likely to also find the solution in real life scenarios. In addition, discipline in practice the understanding of mathematical problems paralles parallel to discipline in general. In conclusion, while students may struggle to excel in mathematics, this subject should not be reduced to an election. To prevent children from developing elemental skills like problem solving and discipline, as well as a lack of a foundation for real life interactions is concerning. In order to build a better society of integral individuals, it is necessary to include and learn the basic subjetcs, even when they seem challenging.