More and more people are using computers and other electronic devices to acess information. So, printing of books, magazines and newspapers should not be done. Do you agree or disagree with this? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevent examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the digital era faced by individuals of the XXI century, it is quite common for people to get information through technological tools such as their phones, computers or tablets. Therefore, the printed sources of information are now not necessary. This essay strongly agrees with the later statement, since online options are more environmentaly friendly, as well as it can cost less money to access to them than printed options. Firstly, one of the main sources of environmental damage is deforestation. Given that the primary source of paper is trees, this process has costed lifes of maybe even billion forests. On the contrary, with technological devices, the environmental issues reduce noticeably, since people can use their phones, or computers to read news, magazines or even books in just one device. A recent study conducted by VOX, concluded that the ebook transition contributed to reducing deforestation in green spaces such as the Amazon rainforest. The study included recommendations from environmentalists who highly encouraged the usage of kindle that could storge a large amount of books, instead of falling into detrimental practices like hoarding thousands of printed books. Secondly, the economical factor plays a big role when leaning towards digital settings. The cost of books, magazines or even daily newspapers could take a toll on citizen's economy. To illustrate, the average cost of a daily newspaper is around one dollar and fifty cents, hence, buying one each day could result in spending almost ten dollars a week. This is highly expensive compared to a yearly digital suscription subscriptions to newspapers like the Times, which could cost around ten or twenty dollars. In conclusion, the digital advancements made thorought this century has underscored the real lack of utility of traditional -printed- layouts, such as books or newspapers. Given the accesible nature of information through technological devices, I do belive that the transition is much needed, in order to advocate for greener options and to also save money, while still accessing to relevant and reliable sources of information.