Mass media provides a plethora of information to anyone with an Internet connection. What are the advantages and disadvantages of mass media through the information technology revolution?

Technological advancement proceeds at unprecedented pace as the Internet provides users wordwide with large amount of information. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of information dissemination through the Internet and conclude by evaluating their impacts on society. Firstly, quality of the information is the major disadvantage of modern mass media information. Perhaps the major drawback is the overwhelming amount of information that we are exposed to daily and the lack of a systematic filtering for the higher quality ones. Together with the abundance of data, viewers or readers are exposed to fake news or inaccurate information which confuses them and deviates their perception of events. Certain media channels might provide approximate information such as the politics and global decisions making which influences the masses. An example of this is the political gulpe gulped which took place in the US where thousand of irated pirated citizens invaded the parliament due to the conspirancy theories created by an insurretionalist group on Social Media. However, despite the possibility of inaccurate or shocking information, overall mass media provides real-time news which make it to the headlines in the blink of an eye and allows the fast spread of information. This is the reason why governments and institutions are able to undertake important decisions about their future and reach out to the audience prompty. An example of this is the fast spread of the Covid-19 pandemic where the national governments were able to communicate the spread of the deadly virus in just a few days, thus creating prompt policies to slower down the spread of the virus. In conclusion, the large amount of information through the media which may result in a less accurate content is the major downside which I can identify. However, fast paces and real-time information spread is the major advantage of modern mass media spread which outweights its disadvantage.