It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

In the stage of growing up, it is essential for children to determine the significance between right and wrong. A heated debate regarding whether punishment is mandatory to assist children in acquiring this distinction. I concur with this statement to a large extent. This essay argues in favour of the long-lasting influence. The mode of punishment should be humanistic and inspiring, rather than painful and discouraging. Many parents and teachers in the Asian context in the previous decade educate youngsters with the implementation of physical punishment. Nonetheless, scholar highlights the backfiring effect. Instead of remembering the lesson, a vast majority of children solely leave a strong impression of the pain and embarrassment. Nowadays, it is universally recognised to adopt a humanistic approach, namely the introduction of unwanted tasks or giving extra homework. Considering from a psychological viewpoint, punishment imprints a solid reinforcement effect into a child's mind. For instance, parents jump at adolescents for speaking profanity or vulgar words. In order to avoid the unwanted stimulus, namely yelling from parents, our brain automatically sends us a message to not say inappropriate things in certain contexts. This triggers the action of reflection and self-control. In the long run, the practice of consistent discipline contributes to a sense of responsibility and the ability to differentiate between right and wrong. The advocates of anti-punishments argue that it causes fear and anxiety. Undoubtedly, verbal abuse or violence is traumatising. Nevertheless, it is noteworthy to say that there are myriad of punishment forms. Parents and teachers could introduce punishment by taking away youngster's personal items or sorting undesired activities, such as chores and revision. These allow children to understand there are consequences to their actions and determine f All in all, while opponents pinpoint that the drawback of punishment outweighs the advantages, it is believed that punishment is advantageous for a child's moral development. However, it is crucial to bear in mind that the form of punishment serves as the ultimate determining factor of the effectiveness.