Some people say that what children watch on television influences their behavior, while others say the amount of time children spend watching television influences their behavior. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued that children ’s behaviours are impacted by either the content or intensity from television programmes. In my opinion, the content has a more significant impact on their acts because it can be adopted directly by them. On the first side, the frequency of watching television influences individuals in their early years since they will slowly memorise what they see. During the childhood period, they quickly store something peculiar and new to them. Moreover, it becomes stronger if they are often exposed. Consider a popular ‘Gangnam Style’ dance that was predominantly undertaken by Indonesian children aged 7 to 10 years old. Because they watched the clip more than three times per day through a television programme, they began to remember the movement, which enabled them to do the dance. However, I do not really think that the stored memory will affect their behaviour continuously, since there are numerous things that they want to be remembered during their age. On the other hand, others agree on the content ’s impacts because it shows the attitudes that can be performed directly by the viewers. Particularly, children have a tendency to conform to what others do based on what they observe and witness. If they are watching positive content, it will subsequently drive them to behave in a good manner, whereas negative content is likely to pose a bad attitude. That phenomenon has been proven by Albert Bandura in his study of some elementary students, who are divided into control and experiment groups. The control group that is assigned to watch television series every two hours per day was showing that they have adopted some vocabularies or sentences from them when communicating with others, whereas the counterpart still talked in the usual way. Since the contents can give children a direct chance to adopt the attitudes, I agree that they can impact their behaviour. In conclusion, while the intensity of watching television makes children memorise vast amounts of information, I believe their behaviours are more likely to be influenced by the contents since it shows a live performance by others that can be directly followed by them.