In some high schools part of the curriculum requires students to participate in community work such as helping the elderly or disabled. In what way do children get benefits from this? Do you think it should be part of the curriculum?

Some institutions, require secondary school students to help vulnerable society such as persons with disability and old people. This essay will discuss how volunteering can help kids boost their confidence and be more compassionate. And that should be included in their course because it can help them become a good member of society. To begin with, exposing children to community work can boost their confidence. Knowing that they were able to make a difference in society can give them a sense of accomplishment. In addition, it can also enhance their compassion. Through this, they will have a deeper understanding of the situation of elders and the challenges of people with disability. This can inspire them to support those individuals who are in need. For instance, in the US, most students who participated in charity work have also encouraged their parents to get involved. And they have one of the highest numbers of charity workers in the world. Furthermore, I think that including community service in the school curriculum can help children become good citizens. This can teach them the value of helping other people who are in need, and learn and understand life better. For example, the individuals they encountered during their volunteering who became disabled due to their dangerous activities can become their inspiration to refrain from doing such things. Thus, if they have consistent exposure to charity work, it will help them become a better person. In conclusion, community service can foster compassion and increase the confidence of high school students. Thus, including it in their curriculum can give them consistent exposure which can inspire them to become a better member of the community.