It is a natural process for animal species to become extinct (e.g. Dinosaurs, dodos …) There is no reason why people should try to prevent this from happening. Do you agree or disagree?

The natural extinction of certain animals is thought to be inevitable and mankind has no responsibility to alter this outcome. While it is true that some disappearances are unavoidable, I partly believe that humanity’s endeavor to thwart this grim fate is not futile. First and foremost, no matter how much effort is devoted, several animals are bound to perish due to natural selection or human doings. Nature’s great filter has operated for millions of years and countless species that are unable to evolve accordingly are destined to die out. Some people argue that all attempts to put an intervention to this process are merely preposterous. An empirical example of this is the extinction of the thylacine, an omnivorous animal formerly found in Australia; they were wiped out at the end of 20th century due to habitat loss and food scarcity, in spite of the tenacious aid from humans. The changes we made to this world are also a culprit contributing to the vanishing of numerous beings. In the name of developments, humanity is putting innumerable lives at stake with pollution and rising global temperature. Unfortunately, the sheer damage done to the habitats of many creatures like rainforests, oceans or polar regions is irreversible in decades to come, which is too short of a time span for them to evolve, eventually causing them to become extinct. On the other hand, there is no dispute that mankind must bring this process to a halt, no matter the cost. It is simply their responsibility to take after all the devastation they have inflicted around the globe. This planet has been for both people and other creatures to share side by side in the past, present, future. Hence it is inhumane to make other beings suffer the ruin of industrialization when we have been coexisting for thousands of years. Apart from moral rationale, the biological diversity and food chain are impaired substantially from animals’ extinction. For instance, were a common species of prey such as rabbits or hares eradicated, many dependent predators would live a life in starvation, waiting for a foreseeable demise. Humanity can certainly mitigate this by appropriate regulations and preservation given to endangered species to sustain a diverse ecosystem. In conclusion, although it may seem unavailing to prevent the annihilation of some animals, there are concrete moral and scientific motivations for humans to prolong the overall population of any other creatures.