Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious problems, as well as practical problems. To what estent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Residing in a foreign land and not speaking the native language could pose major challenges and pragmatic issues. While some believe that a language barrier could make them isolated and so is a big discouragement to deserving people, I disagree with this thought because it encourages us to learn new skills and integrate well with the community. Learning a second or third language when we decide to move abroad should be considered an opportunity to grow. We should gear up to step out of our comfort zone. This effort would pay off in the long run as it will open doors for not only the job prospects but also help in knowing the culture of the foreign country; their way of living, celebrations, special days and historical background. Thus,knowledge of linguistic skills serves as a stepping stone to achieving success outside your home country. For instance, in France, particularly in less popular cities such as Toulouse, people only converse in French. If you talk in any other language, they will refuse to listen to you. However, if you decide to learn and speak in French they would go far beyond to even invite you and sponsor you as a new immigrant. As we well know the old-age saying: When in Rome, do as the Romans do, holds true. Additionally, speaking the official dialect helps the individual to connect well with the locals. He can participate in their religious and cultural events and could even contribute his expertise to society. Having a meaningful conversation with these foreigners gives us a sense of belonging when we are abroad. This bond supports us in times of need and we become capable to form new friendships and grow socially. On the other hand, not knowing the native language could be challenging as an individual might feel handicapped when he has to express himself. This could be a cause of depression and social isolation. In conclusion, choosing to live abroad is only fruitful when we are willing to learn a new language and immerse ourselves in the foreign society. Thus, I disagree that we have a hard time in the foreign country. It is on us as to how we take it. Where there is a will, there is a way.