Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Write at least 250 words.

In this era, a range of options of therapy are available to be chosen by patients. As a result, a shift happens as more and more people prefer to opt for alternative medicine instead of using conventional medicine by visiting doctors. From my point of view, it is quite difficult to consider this as a positive development. First of all, alternative treatment and medicine are seen as a positive development for some people as they could be provided at a more affordable price than conventional medicine. This option seems to be more feasible for some groups of people who can not afford conventional treatment For instance, chemotherapy for cancer patients usually costs millions of rupiah, whereas alternative medicine sometimes offers the treatment at a price of less than one million rupiah However, instead of curing illnesses, alternative medicine could possibly worsen people's current condition and even lead to other health issues. Inaccurate assessment given by the therapist along with insufficient risk-benefit analysis are the main reasons why this happens. For example, there are many cases where a patient with diabetes is treated with a herb mixture to decrease the level of blood sugar and ends up collapsing as their blood sugar decreases to the point where It is intolerable. Also, some researchers have proven that the use of herbs taken as medicine. not processed well, could harm the kidney and lead to the development of kidney stones. in conclusion, even though nowadays people argue that alternative medicine is a positive development due to its price. I want to reaffirm my statement that this phenomenon tends to be negative since it could lead to further unpredictable health issues