In some societies, the number of crimes committed by teenagers is growing. Some people think that regardless of age, teenagers who commit major crimes should receive adult punishments. To what extent do you agree

Unfortunately, these days the number of youth crimes is increasing in some countries. Some people argue that to deal with these crimes, young people should be punished as much as adults. Although youngsters need punish when they commit a crime, I personally believe they should receive a lighter sentence than adults. To begin with, if young children receive adult punishment, they might be negatively influenced by time in adult prisons. That is to say that, they may meet people in prison who have committed very serious crimes and wrongly emulate them. For instance, they may learn about many crimes that did not know about before, such as theft and extortion. Moreover, heavy sentences may have an adverse effect on their mental health. Consequently, they may suffer from depression and anxiety in the future. In addition, teenagers are not fully responsible for their action. In other words, they do not have much experience and do not know the world properly; sometimes they are not aware of consequent of their action. For example, they do not know that many murders happen when people are angry. Also youngsters need re-education, not punishment and it is clear that bad behavior is easier to change when a person is young. Take teaching jobs that can earn money from an early age as a patently obvious example, which can be useful for improving one’s character and standing in the future. In conclusion, youth people must be punished so that they do not repeat they crime again, but a punishment suitable for their age that will have a positive effect on them, not a negative one.