Technology is destroying social interactions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely affirmed that technology advancements have been tearing apart social bonds for the last decade. While digital communication has permitted to entail relationships across the boarder, it definetly compelled people to relay entirely on their digital devices (cellphones and computers). This essay agrees partially with this statement. Furthermore, I will dwell upon the reasons of why I think its necessary to strike a balance between face-to-face interactions and digital ones. First of all, it is widely positive the impact of bordeless cordless communications. Inventions such as social media or videocall applications like zoom or skype permitted people to interact with others; regardless of their country of residence. Nowadays, a plethora of persons can communicate effectively if they have a reliable internet connection and a technological device with a camera and microphone. For example, due to the restrictions imposed during the Pandemic in 2020, people were not allowed to have social gatherings, or even leaving their houses at all. Hence, they resorted to have videocalls in apps such as Meet, Zoom, or FaceTime, in order to sustain their social bonds and friends circles. This could only has been possible due to the technological advancements made on the past couple of decades. According to a study made by The Guardian, 99% of the people during COVID, kept updated with their peers or friendships through videocalls or text messages. Some of them even as well created their own social gatherings through the "metaverse", a virtual place where their avatars could reunite with each other in this virtual world. While I totally think technology has changed things for the better, it is quite important to remark the importance of face-to-face interactions. We are social beings, and is pivotal to not relay entirely on our mobile devices for making connections with each other. Moreover, social gatherings are fundamental for humans, on the grounds that the bonds and connections made personally are grounded in reality. This could enhance our dopamine levels, as well as its benefitial for evading addictions to virtual screens. To illustrate, some individuals could become addicted to their virtual world, whether is through social media apps or interactive videogames; friendships that they have created through those virtual channels will mostly, stay virtual, priving those individuals to develop social skills based on real life scenarios. It is quite different to the bonds that we make with childhood, work or university friends. To conclude, real life interactions have been deeply influeced by technology, however, I do not agree entirely with this being a drawback as a whole for social connections. Moreover, I do think it is important to have a balance between the virtual reality and the real one, to reckon the force of real life friendships, in order to develop ourselves as human beings, parallel to incorporate these new technologies to expand our experience in the today's society.