Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent days, people are buying more and more products because of the growth in advertising rather than buying out of necessity. I agree with it. However, I also believe that the facilitation of delivery methods has also played a big part in this role. First, companies are investing heavily in advertising because they can see that the return has been guaranteed. For instance, they are targeting social media influencers, which are people with a large number of followers on the internet, to promote their products. Consequently, with the boom of the internet, people became more exposed to products and eventually to more promotions and sales. Therefore, many are shopping sometimes just because they saw someone famous promoting the product and thought it was cool, instead of buying something useful. Second, delivery plays a crucial role in this increase in goods sales. That is because, with online orders in demand, companies needed to adapt and become more flexible with their customers. Companies are offering free delivery and return of goods bought online. Therefore, people feel compelled to buy as much as they want and may or may not return it. This easy access to products increases the temptation to buy more. Moreover, the return can be taken from the buyer's house. In conclusion, recently, the number of consumer goods has increased dramatically, showing the power behind advertising and not much of what people need. I believe that not only does advertising make sales go up, but it is also an easy way to receive the products at the designated place.