People’s lifestyles are becoming unhealthier in many countries. What can governments do to reverse this, and which of those actions is most likely to be successfully carried out by those governments?

In recent years, the throwaway lifestyle has become one of the most serious health problems among people of all ages. This is caused by several reasons including processed food consumption and lack of physical activities. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons why people in many countries live in unhealthy ways and suggest some solutions for the government in order to solve this situation. There is an irrefutable fact that unhealthy lifestyles happened due to some main reasons, including overworking. The increasing amount of work has led modern people to numerous mental health problems such as exhaustion or burnout, and they tend to choose fast food for meals instead of home-cooked meals. This leads to long-term consequences as their diet contains a high proportion of fat and causes obesity. Furthermore, lack of exercise is also another problem which could destroy our health. A study of some students at the University of Education showed that not only the adolescent but also older people prefer staying at home and working with their computer to exercising, even though having seated in front of the screen too long without doing exercise causes several physical difficulties such as short-sightedness. According to those problems, I would like to suggest that the government should expand the citizens’ knowledge about things they could do to have a better lifestyle, and also pay attention to the effects which throwaway lifestyle could affect mental health. Moreover, governments should also adjust the working hours for all businesses in order to balance between the work and life of all the employees. Once governments could balance the working time, there will be more chances for people to prepare for their daily meals and do exercises regularly. This could be considered as the most important solution that governments should do immediately. In conclusion, it is clear that many people are in disregard of their own way of living. Unhealthy lifestyles could be reduced if the government could popularize information about better ways of life and introduce new laws about working hours.