Practice 16 Nowadays celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth for their achievements and this sets a bad example to young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that there is an increasingly trend that publics get to know a celebrity from his glamourous appearance and wealth rather than his real achievement. I partially agree with this argument because I contend that it contains bias and the majority celebrities who win their reputation among publics are known for their achievements. For one thing, I hold the view that many celebrities are known for their wealth owing to the intense and fast-moving world trend. With the advent of social media, it is a quite common trend that some publics would prefer to watch short pieces of video to save time. This trend fosters some actors to record content catching public eyes rather than polishing their skills working on producing masterpieces, an effort that is very time consuming. For example, some Hollywood movie stars prefer to showcase their luxury houses in Beverley hills on TikTok to accumulate more viewers, generating more revenue in short time. Thus, those adolescents who are TikTok loyal viewers would be attracted to this unusual life showcase and AI imbedded digital marketing function will accelerate the information absorption and diffusion. Therefore, more and more people will get the unrealistic illusion that celebrities are more famous for their wealth and ignore their achievements. Although I accept that social trend should be blamed for this phenomenon, there are still many celebrities who win lasting good reputation through their achievements in their professional domain. For instance, Elieen Gu, the profession skiing athlete, sets a lasting good model for adolescents and her perseverance personality and strong achievement in sports are promoted by not only publics but also the national authority. Such type of model last longer impression in audience than those celebrities who capture audiences’ eyes via low class entertainment because publics are becoming more critically and skeptically in absorbing information, particularly well-educated next generations. In conclusion, I partially agree that some celebrities are famous for their wealth along with the social trend but young people are more likely to welcome those who showcase their achievements and virtue.