More and more couples are deciding to be child-free, to have no children, in other words. Some people claim that those couples reach this conclusion through entirely selfish reasons. While others think that they came to this decision through noble motives, such as concern about overpopulation and desire for independence Disuss both views and give your opinion.

These days, an increasing number of married couples prefer to be “child-free” or in other words, not to have children. Some people argue that selfishness is the underlying reason; while others believe they have certain noble motives such as considering overpopulation and willingness to be independent. Through this essay, I will ventilate both views by providing some examples, then giving my own supportive opinion. To begin with, being child-free is perceived to be a self-centered yet tempting choice for some couples since they can focus on their existing lives only, instead of being distracted by confusion about other affairs such as children's needs. This idea is rational since basic life necessities including meals, clothings, and education are inevitably getting more expensive nowadays; consequently, family finances tend to be heavily burdened in order to fulfill those. Neglecting this, today's world is so familiar with unwanted cases whereby couples are found living unhappily, stealing in groceries and even suicide due to the stress of maintaining their financial needs, particularly for their children. Contrary to the previous view, couples who intend to be living without any children are caused by their certain perspective of the world nowadays that is getting more crowded and even it is projected there will be no space to live in for the upcoming years. Existing condition of human beings is heart-wrenching. As can be seen, there are a lot of children experiencing starvation and being uneducated due to poverty, wars, and injustice. If couples decide to continue emanating a new human population, rather than solving the existing problems, in reverse, it will create new ones. Subsequently, when it continues, life independence will also be robbed of whether the children or the parents. Regarding child-free, to sum up, this endeavor is underlied by a wide range of motives. In spite of that, I personally perceive the current world conditions are no longer promising for children's lives and overpopulation should not be left unchecked. Hence, I am on the receptive side toward child-free since it can be one of the convincing alternatives.