As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Do you think the advantages of this trend for individuals outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

It is true that the use of personal vehicles is increasing. Thus, there exists a debate about whether the benefits of the growing tendency for individuals outweigh the environmental damage of it. From my perspective, I am inclined to stand with the opinion that its disadvantages for the environment exceed its advantages for humans. Initially,the increasing number of private cars not only brings about convenience in daily life but also raises individual financial burdens. As countries develop, it is common to buy cars for private use. Except for the virtue of convenience, buying cars actually generates many costs including purchasing, parking,maintenance and so on. For example, citizens in major cities like Taipei have to spend over one million on parking space. Besides, the value of vehicles will gradually decline after using them for a long time. Moreover, the expansion of public transportation considerably alleviates the inconvenie of daily communication. Therefore, it is not necessary to have personal vehicles. At the other end of the spectrum, the pollution from vehicles has caused counterproductive outcomes. For instance, vehicle emissions are important factors in air pollution. Furthermore, the more cars on roads the more noise they produce. Thus, the demerits of the condition not only pollute the environment but also influence people's life qualities. To sum up, despite the growing tendency of personal cars is inevitable, its damage to the environment cannot be denied. As mass transport improves, people should optimally use it so as to reduce the pollution from vehicles and decrease individual costs on cars.