Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Learning a foreign language is become very important in the present world. According to the educationists, begin learning a foreign language in the primary school is better than the secondary for many reasons. There are both benefits and drawbacks eventhough benifits are more. Usually,in many schools, secondary students are allowed to learn foreign languages. For example, French is to begin in Grade 10 in SriLanka government sector. Then the students are totally occupied with sports, literary work and prepare for the public examination,O/L in two years. So,they are not interested in learning a foreign language. This is a barrier to begin learning a foreign language in the secondary school. Meanwhile, the early childhood is ideal to begin learning as they are more active and enthusiastic. Could make them familiar with active participation in songs,games and so on. They are not shy to speak up, unlike teenagers.The earlychildhood is capable of absorbing a new language like the mother tongue. However, there are situations, students get confused when both the mother tongue and foreign language are taught in the early primary grades. Another drawback is, less teachers and exposure to the foreign language. Students do not expose to the target,the foreign language. In conclusion, with all the disadvantages, it is agreeable to the view that, begin learning a foreign language in the primary school is better rather than the secondary school as there are more advantages.