Writing task 2. In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant exampes from your own knowledge or experience.

Every organisation has a need to promote their products and services at some point of their operature. It is observed that they tend to showcase the newness of their products in some way. This short essay explores why that may be the case and whether it is a positive or negative phenomenon. First, let us explore the various reasons why businesses advertise that their products are new. The most likely situation would be that they are putting forward an idea that was never thought of before among their staff members or a plan that was not executed previously due to constraints in time, budget, and skills. Perhaps it could be considered novel in their region while that is not the case in other parts of the country. Maybe they just use buzzwords like "new" and "novel" to catch the attention of their target consumers. Another possible reason is that the business is undergoing some changes in their branding and marketing. For example, the multinational conglommerate producing Tide detergent recently had some products labelled as such, with a written explanation on the back saying the product was exactly the same and they were just upgrading their packaging. This helps Tide retain its existing buyers while attracting new ones. I think this could both be a positive and negative development. Nothing can ever be truly new considering how much human society has developed through history. Nonetheless, it is good to have more options of the same product as it allows people to choose what they want depending on their needs and preferences. For example, there always seems to be an abundance of companies selling tissue paper made of different materials with varying techniques which we would not know about without advertisements. However, it can be disadvantageous for customers who do not know much about the product they want to buy. If the advertisement claims to be new even without any supporting evidence, they may believe that it is better and be tempted into purchasing them. To conclude, promoting products as new can be beneficial for both businesses and their consumers. While there are two sides to this coin, I see this as a positive development as the benefits seem to outweigh the drawbacks.