In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In the forthcoming years, every car, bus and truck is expected to be driverless with humans as the occupant of these vehicles. While I accept that driverless systems in these vehicles can sometimes have a demerit on the passengers, I believe that they are more likely to have merit. On the one hand, driverless vehicles can make individuals lose their concentration and productivity. The concentration level in humans can be reduced when it is not used continuously. For instance, people are not frequently using their brains to drive cars, which might have an impact on the human’s brain performance in daily activities such as basic driving skills. From the other perspective, it also triggers laziness in people to face another task in their lives. It has been shown that riding a Tesla can increase idleness and decrease productivity even just picking up the phone. On the other hand, I would argue that these drawbacks are outweighed by the benefits. Firstly, it can reduce the possibility of accidents, even though it can not decrease by 100%. It is purposely designed to follow the traffic signs in order to avoid accidents. People cannot be aware of the traffic signs when they usually get in the car while they are drunk, so a driverless system will be a big help. Another benefit is people can improve their multitasking skills while riding in driverless vehicles without insecurity, such as doing a meeting via Zoom, watching Netflix in a car, or even just sleeping for a while as long as the car runs with safety features in it. To conclude, it seems to me that the possible benefits such as reducing accidents and time efficiency that are provided by driverless vehicles are more significant than the potential dangers like lack of concentration and productivity.