“Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?”

Many criminals commit more crimes after attempting the first punishment. I think this is happening because the first punishment served to the criminals does not give them the deterrent effect, it can be because it's not align with their type of crime or it's too easy for them. The government must work together with the law office to design the appropriate policies of how to handle this issue, criminals are the person who break the social norm in their socitey and they cannot just get the usual punishment. They must be given a correct type of punishment according to thier type of crimes, for example, the drugs dealer must be punished at least the whole live to give the deterrent effect and to impede the drugs chain, in some country like Indonesia, people who caught as a drugs dealer will be punished to dead. To conclude, it is important that the government work closely with the law office to design the regulation that to make sure every criminals have the exact punishment type according to their crimes category