Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks, and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis, and metro on vehicle-free days. To what extent do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Several cities worldwide have implemented initiatives such as: vehicle-free days in which private vehicles, trucks and motorbikes are prohibited from inner city with a view to promoting people to use public transportation rather than their own vehicles. It seems to be that the positive outcomes brought by this scheme eclispe its negative sides. Admitedlly, there are some drawbacks that need being taken into consideration when applying this scheme on a large scale. One worth mentioning is that traffic may be diverted from inner cities to the surrounding streets, which displace traffic congestion and adverse environmental exposures to other areas. This can result in environmental injustice and vehicle-free days can be introduced at the expense of the residential characters of some neighbourhoods. More importantly, public transport in some cities is not reliable and comfortable for commuters, thereby bringing some discomfort for city dwellers on the daywhen the vehicle-free days are enacted. Notwithstanding the aforementioned ideas, introducing such practice promote such positive impacts for city residents and the environment alike. Firstly, implementing this intiative supports to minimize the environmental issues, particularly for air pollution. Indeed, carbon dioxide and nitrogen oxide are the main culprits behind air pollution, posing a risk to human's health. By dimishing the number of vehicles on the road, vehicle-free days helps to improve the quality of air as well as respiratory health for city dwellers. Secondly, it can also promote the use of public transportation. By promoting individuals to utilize buses and metros, these intiatives reduces the traffic congestion in the inner cities. This eventually leads to smoother traffic flow and faster commuting times for those using public transport. Besides, it also enhances the accessibility for those who do not own private vehilces or find it a daunting task to navigate congested roads. To conclude, implementing the vehicle-free days offer people with both merits and downsides. However I am of the opinion that such benefits namely reducing the environmental impacts and encouraging to use public transport will out weigh the negative sides it brings about: inconveniece when using public transport and diverting traffic congestion.