Some people believe that the internet is increasing the gap between the rich and poor, while others argue that it helps to reduce this gap. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

The internet is changing our world at a dramatic pace. Yet, it is not clear who benefits the most. Does the internet help the rich to become richer, or does it actually help the poor close the gap? I believe that the Internet presents a unique opportunity to make our world more equal. Those who argue that the Internet mainly helps the rich have a point, Firstly, only people who have access to it can benefit from it. Although internet access is becoming more common, many people with low incomes will have no stable broadband at home and are less likely to gain from this technology. As for the business world, the internet clearly accelerates the growth of successful companies, such as Amazon and Facebook, which cannibalize small businesses. In this way, it benefits the owners of large corporations, mainly based in developed countries, and hurts smaller local businesses and people working for them. On the other hand, the internet gives unprecedented opportunities to those who are less well-off, In the past, one's location to a large extent determined their access to education and well-paid jobs but today, this is less true. Distance leaning allows people to gain knowledge and skills that are not available in their area. Then, they can use these skills to work remotely for companies based in richer parts of the world and get higher salaries, By giving these opportunities to poorer parts of the population, the internet helps to make income distribution more equal. Although the rich can use the internet to their advantage, I believe that it is the poor who benefit the most. This is because today, many more people can get access to opportunities that used to be available only to the wealthy few. The internet, therefore, makes one's background less important and creates competition in which the smartest wins. In conclusion, the internet opens for wider access to opportunities for both individuals and businesses. This is why, in my view, this technology has a great potential to narrow the gap between the rich and the poor.