Increasing the price is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The importance of a price rise in transportation fees which was always debatable has now become more controversial with many people claiming that it is beneficial while others reject this notion. From my point of view, it is essential to raise the costs of using vehicles due to the reduction of air pollution and encouragement of using other ways of transport. To begin with, if the costs of private cars grow, people will be less likely to use cars as normal traffic tools. Thus, the carbon emission from the multitude of cars will then decrease. Research shows that transportation is the fourth most polluting industry in the world. It accounts for around 5% of the global carbon dioxide emission. Although the carbon emission issue includes a lot of different aspects, the environment will improve if we start to drive less.  Apart from reducing pollution, higher prices in the usage of vehicles can force people to use more public transportation. In this day and age, the cost of public transport is quite low. For instance, if we travel by MTR in Hong Kong, the ticket fee is usually below $20 which is a one-time fee. However, driving cars is more expensive nowadays. If the government increases the price of using private vehicles, many citizens may not be able to afford the high price. As a result, they will use other transports. In addition, they will even try to choose walking instead of using the bus or MTR.  In conclusion, I firmly think that we should increase the price of using private cars because it can diminish the negative impact on the environment and change the mindset of the public that we have to use private vehicles. As long as we do that, our Earth will become more sustainable.