In the developed world, average life expactancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that caould be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

It is common for developed countries that the average lifespan is increasing. This situation causes a number of issues. In this essay, I plan to consider some of them and possible solutions for reducing their negative impacts. To begin with hardships, the grown number of aged people makes higher the number of demands for medical treatment for aged-related illnesses. In this term, this trend may be considered as a burden on the healthcare system. For example, the period of expectation for a person who booked an appointment in a medical institution might last longer due to a huge quantity of individuals who need treatments. Along that, elderly population can lead to labour shortages and decreased productivity as they stay longer in their jobs. For instance, if a company has to keep positions for old men, young specialists will lose a chance to get a job there despite the fact of their modern and progressive techniques that are not available to the older specialists and, without an argumentation, negatively impact on the productivity. Among the possible remedies, I would like to point out the reform of pension system to give older people the opportunity to retire early. For instance, benefits and packages that will support their life after retirement. Another measure that can help to mitigate the burden on the healthcare system could be promoting healthy lifestyles to reduce the onset of age-related diseases. The later a person demand treatments the less strain be on medical istitutions. Moreover, encouraging families to have more children through family-friendly policies can balance the age demographic. To sum up, the growing number of aged people has the negatives, yet, providing appropriate policies for early retirement, healthy lifestyles, and the demographic balance can help to alleviate this impacts.