The best way to prevent people from smoking is to impose high taxes on tobacco products. In this way, people will be less likely to develop a long-term addiction to smoking. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, along with the modern healthy lifestyle, smoking addiction has become a serious concern among them to find a solution to overcome it. Some people argue that the best way to prevent it is to impose high taxes on tobacco products. I personally agree with this notion as a great solution to overcome the smoking addiction problem in societies. First and foremost, the main reason why the high taxes on tobacco products can prevent people from smoking is because it will make smokers think twice about buying a pack of cigarettes. An expensive price of cigarettes means it will slowly change the daily habit of these smokers since they can not buy it as much as before. If this regulation is implemented, it will present a big impact on smokers, especially smokers from middle and low-income societies since these two societies contribute a majority number of smokers. To illustrate, instead of buying cigarettes at their high prices, they will tend to save their money to buy other things which are more important. Furthermore, high taxes on tobacco products also can make many companies reduce or even stop their production of cigarettes. The amount of the cigarettes in the market will decrease significantly if these companies reduce their production due to the high cost of taxes. Many small shops will not sell cigarettes anymore because many cigarette suppliers have stopped their production and people will also find it difficult to buy them. Consequently, this will gradually reduce and stop smoking habits in societies.