Some people think that sport teaches children how to compete, while others believe that children learn team work. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people argue that participating in sports encourages children to be competitive while others argue that it educates them how to work on a team. This essay will discuss how sports can develop the competitiveness and team work in children and why a balance of both is necessary to them. To begin with, participating in sport activity can help kids develop their competitiveness. During this activity, they can learn the importance of hard work and determination in order to win. It also motivates them to do better than their last game and achieve new goals. For instance, Michael Jordan was deemed to be not good enough to play basketball on his school varsity. And this became his motivation to strive harder. To this day, he is one of the greatest basketball player of all-time. Thus, being competitive is good with the right amount. On the other hand, sports can help children how to work with other teammates. It will teach them that it is easier to share workloads with others. This can help them know the strengths and weaknesses of others and the things they can contribute in order to achieve their goal. For example, in football it requires a team to succeed. Each player have their roles such as the center and goal keeper. They all work together in order to score. Hence, playing in sports can educate kids about the importance of working in a team. In conclusion, competitiveness and team work can be learned through sports. A balance of both can have significant benefits in their lives.