Some people think that sport teaches children how to compete, while others believe that children learn team work. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Some people argue that participating in sports encourages children to be competitive while others argue that it educates them on how to work on a team. This essay will discuss how sports can develop competitiveness and teamwork in children and I believe that a balance of both is necessary for them. To begin with, participating in sports activities can help kids develop their competitiveness. During this activity, they can learn the importance of hard work and determination in order to win. It also motivates them to do better than their last game and achieve new goals. For instance, Michael Jordan was deemed to be not good enough to play basketball on his school varsity. And this became his motivation to strive harder. To this day, he is one of the greatest basketball players of all time. Thus, being competitive is good with the right amount. On the other hand, sports can help children how to work with other teammates. It will teach them that it is easier to share workloads with others. This can help them know the strengths and weaknesses of others and the things they can contribute in order to achieve their goal. For example, in football, it requires a team to succeed. Each player has their role such as the center and goalkeeper. They all work together in order to score. Hence, playing sports can educate kids about the importance of working in a team. In conclusion, competitiveness and teamwork can be learned through sports. I believe that a balance of both can have significant benefits in their lives.