In recent years, some countries have experienced very rapid economic development. This has resulted in higher standards of living in urban areas but not in the countryside. What problems could this cause? How could these be reduced?

Currently, rapid economic development has been happening in some nations. It is extremely beneficial for citizens living in the city centre with a high quality of life, while residents in the countryside can not enjoy the benefits. This essay will attempt to explain some problems caused by this phenomenon and provide some measures to eliminate this gap. Firstly, attributed to economic increase, there are more and more job opportunities in the service industry in the cities. Therefore, a massive amount of people will leave their hometown in the countryside and the village will lose more labour in the future. Moreover, the terrible economic environment in the rural area could cause a higher rate of crime because people can maintain their lives quality. To reduce the gap between the city and the settlement, governments should plan budgets and schemes to build basic facilities in rural areas resulting in promoting their standards of life. Moreover, residents can develop the tourism service about the culture and customs of the village to attract urban residents to invest the money to travel. For example, the cultural town in the south of Taiwan has created a series of traditional temple experiences since 2004. This program has made them earn over 2000 billion. In brief, constructing public facilities and promoting industries in the countryside is useful to eliminate the gap. In conclusion, the dramatic economic development could lead to an M-shaped society in some countries. I believe that not only the government but also citizens should invest the resources to optimize the living standards in the rural area.