Some people believe that when designing a building, the most important thing to be considered is the function rather than the appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A certain number of individuals give priority to the function when conceiving a building instead of appearance. I concur this opinion although there are some benefits brought from appearance. A well-functional building greatly improves the utilization rate so that take full use of the various resources such as finance, architectural materials and labor. Take the library for example, the main purpose of a library is to provide a venue where the public can read and study. Good facilities such as comfortable chairs, adequate computers for searching and good quality books and periodicals, will attract citizens to visit frequently, which satisfies the original intention however the beautiful appearance may attract the public only once. Furthermore, well-functional buildings extend the service time and secure safety. It is indispensable to ensure the inner systems are strong enough to suffer from various weather conditions, such as a waterproof functional roof for rain and an air circulation system for air pollution. Concentrating on outward appearance and ignoring its inner function, in the worst case, can lead to a risk of collapse when facing extreme weather events. On the other hand, the attractive appearance may promote the local tourist economy. In light of the rapid development of social media, young tourists are keen to explore landmark buildings which are good-looking on outward so that they can share pictures on the internet. As a consequence, more and more tourists will be attracted by those sharing and eventually visit this place. Overall, function is the most significant factor that should be considered because not only does it promote a higher utilization rate but also it safeguards the property although the economic benefit brought from outward appearance should not be ignored.