In future, people may no longer be able to pay for things in shops using cash. All payments may have to be made by card or using phones. Do you think this will happen one day ? Why do you think some people might not be happy to give up using cash?

The rapid advancement in technology has revolutionized the way finance sectors work nowadays, and in my opinion that day is not too far when individuals will only use cards or digital methods to pay their bills. However, there are a few folks who might be unwilling to accept this change and would prefer the traditional method of using cash. This essay intends to shed light on both perspectives. To begin with, many positive facets are associated with the phenomenon of cashless payment for example no buyer has to worry about carrying cash all the time; especially in a time of emergency.Smartphones are widely used by most people,and utilizing them as a mode of payment could resolve many issues related to a pickpocket. Many people face difficulties in getting change while they are travelling or having a fun time with their loved ones in a restaurant, thus the use of a card or mobile will give them hassle-free family outings. Furthermore, customers paying directly via bank is more beneficial to shop and business owners as they can also accept all the transactions to their bank which eliminates the risk of theft in their stores. Hence, advancement in the money exchange system is effective and stress-free for both consumer and seller. On the other hand, the digital payment adoption may be opposed by elderly citizens who are unfamiliar with the use cellphones or electronic machines. An increase in digitalization eventually increases the risk of hacking, fraudulent activities and scams. To elaborate, fraudsters may steal individuals banking information and use digital payment methods to impersonate them. Losing a debit or credit card is another similar threat. Dependency on the internet will remain high every time which can cause trouble when there is none available. So cash is considered a safe and convenient option for old people. To conclude, I am inclined to believe that although using internet payment is automatic and fast there are plausible reasons to use cash yet, the security remains the paramount concern. Risk could be minimized if users are more alert while using those methods and mature adults are fairly guided and assisted by the young generation around them.