In recent years, social media has become an increasingly important part of many people's lives. What are the potential benefits and drawbacks of social media use? Do you believe the overall impact of social media is positive or negative?

Social media is becoming more impact on people's daily lives nowadays. It has both positive and negative effects. In my point of view, the social media provides more benefits that outweigh the drawbacks. This essay will cover the positives and negatives of the usage of social media. On the positive side, social media connects people around the world together and allows more opportunities in life, such as friends, romantic relationships, and work offers, i.e. Facebook for finding friends, or LinkedIn for jobs. Moreover, it has a revolutionary impact on how marketing and selling work. For instance, advertisements are currently done through videos or posts made by well-known content creators, while they used to be publicised through televisions, newspapers, or billboards. Also, the form of information is also change, from a writing form to images or videos. Meanwhile, on the drawbacks, content on several platforms may not be appropriate for all age groups and the regulations still need to be improved. For example, YouTube contains violent or sexual content, and there is still no tool to revise videos before appear in the channel. They will be taken down after some users report the issues, thus, young children have a chance to have some exposure to the improper contents. However, there is an attempt to solve the problem, by creating a new platform specifically for kids, such as YouTube Kids. In conclusion, It is a great tool that gives several benefits. People could gain connections and opportunities on the online platforms, but there is still room to be improved.